Skip to main content

Rolling over unused minutes texts or data

If you've purchased top-ups for your data, the unused balance can carry into your next plan cycle.

Unused base plans do not roll over​

The base plan (the plan you start your month with) is valid for 30 days and unused balances from it will not roll over.

Top-ups roll over​

Unused minutes, texts, and data from top-ups on non-Unlimited plans do roll over to your next billing cycle. How they roll over depends on the network you're on.

note

High-speed data top-ups on Unlimited plans (Premium, Starter, Flex, etc.) do not roll over to your next billing cycle.

Top-up rollover for by-the-gig (Shareable Data) plans​

If you run out of data on a by-the-gig plan, you can add a data top-up. Any unused data from the top-up rolls over to your next billing cycle — for one billing cycle only.

Top-up rollover for grandfathered individual plans and custom plans​

Rollover behavior for top-ups varies by network.

On Light Speed​

On the Light Speed network, unused minutes, texts, and data from top-ups roll over to your next billing cycle and are available for the full cycle.

On Warp and Dark Star​

On the Warp and Dark Star networks, minutes, texts, and data from top-ups roll over into the next billing cycle's base plan if:

  1. Your next bill is paid on time (whether manually or via AutoPay).
  2. There's a base plan in the same category as the top-up.

For example, if you purchased 1,000 text messages as a top-up and want them to roll over, you'd need to purchase at least a small text plan with your next bill. If the service expires, the top-up expires too — so renew on time or keep AutoPay turned on.

Was this article helpful?