A home phone in 2026 can cost you nothing a month, or close to ninety dollars. Same dial tone, same ring. What changes is the plumbing behind the jack, who sends you the bill, and how many little fees ride along with it.
So we went provider by provider, on their own websites, and wrote down what a household actually pays: the monthly price, the fees each company adds itself, the box you have to buy, and whether the thing still works when the internet drops. Some of it was easy to find. Some of it was buried three accordions deep in a terms page, which tells you something too.
The short answer
-
Lowest monthly price, no internet needed
$12.99/mo
US Mobile
Taxes and fees included, or $9.99 a month on the annual plan. You buy the $110 base once.
-
$0 monthly service
$0/mo
Ooma Basic
You buy a $79.99 Telo, pay monthly taxes and fees Ooma doesn’t print in dollars, and need home internet.
-
Lowest first-year cost
$44.99
magicJack
The device with 12 months of service, before a 9% administrative fee, shipping and taxes. Renews at $43 a year. Needs internet.
-
Unlimited calls abroad
$14.99/mo
Vonage World Prime
Unlimited calling to 60+ countries, new customers only, plus a $1.99 monthly 911 fee, a 19.14% Federal Program Fee and taxes.
Home phone service prices compared
Sorted by monthly price, cheapest first. That is the order the providers advertise in, and it is not the order you will pay in, which is why the next few columns exist. Provider names jump down to the full record for that plan.
- Cellular
- A base station that uses mobile signal. No home internet needed.
- VoIP
- Phone service over your home internet. Stops when the internet or the power goes out, unless your router and modem are on backup power.
- Provider fees
- Monthly charges the company adds itself, on top of the plan and separate from government taxes.
- Included / Extra
- Whether taxes sit inside the price or get added to the bill.
- First year
- Twelve months of service plus required equipment, activation and the provider’s own fees where they publish an amount. Before taxes unless taxes are included. Each plan’s record says exactly what is counted.
- Estimated all-in in NYC
- Our estimate of the monthly bill at a New York City address, one of the most heavily taxed places in the US: the price, the provider’s own fees, 8.875% sales tax, a federal Universal Service charge, and fixed 911 surcharges of $2.70 a month on a cellular line or $1.00 on a VoIP line. It is an estimate, not a quote, and your own address will usually come out lower.
- Not disclosed
- The provider doesn’t publish this. It is not a zero and not a no.
- Not estimated
- We don’t estimate tax when the provider doesn’t say how it bills taxes and fees, or when the service itself is $0.
| Provider | Plan | Type | Monthly price | Provider fees | Taxes | Equipment | First year (see note) | Estimated all-in in NYC | Battery backup |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Ooma | Telo Basic | VoIP | $0/mo service; device and fees extra |
Not disclosed | Extra | $79.99 | $79.99 | Not estimated | Not applicable (runs off your router) |
| Ooma | Telo Air Basic | VoIP | $0/mo service; device and fees extra |
Not disclosed | Extra | $129.99 | $129.99 | Not estimated | Not applicable (runs off your router) |
| magicJack | magicJackHOME | VoIP | $3.58/mo billed $43 a year |
Not disclosed | Extra | $44.99 | $44.99 | Not estimated | Not applicable (runs off your router) |
| Voiply | Residential Home Phone, Annual billing | VoIP | $7.46/mo billed $89.50 a year |
Recovery fee in terms | Extra | Free | $89.50 | $10.94 to $11.16 estimated with tax |
Not applicable (runs off your router) |
| Voiply | Residential Home Phone, Monthly billing | VoIP | $8.95/mo month to month |
Recovery fee in terms | Extra | Free | $107.40 | $12.93 to $13.18 estimated with tax |
Not applicable (runs off your router) |
| netTALK | NexGen | VoIP | $9/mo month to month |
Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | $108 | Not estimated | Not applicable (runs off your router) |
| Ooma | Premier | VoIP | $9.99/mo month to month |
Not disclosed | Extra | $79.99 | $179.89 | $14.31 to $14.60 estimated with tax |
Not applicable (runs off your router) |
| Vonage | North America Plan | VoIP | $9.99/mo new-customer price |
$1.99/mo | Extra | Free | $143.76 | $16.30 to $16.59 estimated with tax |
Not applicable (runs off your router) |
| US Mobile | Home Phone | Cellular | $12.99/mo month to month |
None listed | Included | $110 | $252.89 | Same as advertised taxes and fees are in the price |
Included |
| AXvoice | Residential VoIP | VoIP | $14.99/mo month to month |
Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Free | $179.88 | Not estimated | Not applicable (runs off your router) |
| Vonage | World Prime Plan | VoIP | $14.99/mo new-customer price |
$1.99/mo | Extra | Free | $203.76 | $22.97 to $23.40 estimated with tax |
Not applicable (runs off your router) |
| Straight Talk | Wireless Home Phone | Cellular | $15/30 days month to month |
Not disclosed | Not disclosed | $49.99 | $232.49 | Not estimated | Not disclosed |
| 1-VoIP | Residential VoIP | VoIP | $17.97/mo month to month |
Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Free | $215.64 | Not estimated | Not applicable (runs off your router) |
| Callcentric | Residential SIP / VoIP | VoIP | $19.95/mo month to month |
Not disclosed | Extra | Bring your own | $252.90 | $27.59 to $28.16 estimated with tax |
Not applicable (runs off your router) |
| PhonePower | Residential VoIP | VoIP | $19.95/mo month to month |
$8.18/mo | Extra | Free | $352.51 | $35.77 to $36.34 estimated with tax |
Not applicable (runs off your router) |
| Ooma | Telo LTE | Cellular | $19.99/mo month to month |
Not disclosed | Extra | $99.99 | $339.87 | $27.64 to $28.21 estimated with tax |
Included |
| AT&T | Phone Advanced, Domestic | Cellular | $45/mo month to month |
$2.22/mo | Extra | $1 | $602.64 | $60.19 to $60.93 estimated with tax |
Included |
| Community Phone | Home | Cellular | $45/mo month to month |
Not disclosed | Extra | $99 | $639 | $57.97 to $58.71 estimated with tax |
Included (26 hours) |
| AT&T | Phone Advanced, International | Cellular | $50/mo month to month |
$2.22/mo | Extra | $1 | $662.64 | $66.33 to $67.15 estimated with tax |
Included |
| Community Phone | Premium | Cellular | $59/mo month to month |
Not disclosed | Extra | $99 | $807 | $75.17 to $76.13 estimated with tax |
Included (26 hours) |
| Community Phone | Loved Ones | Cellular | $89/mo month to month |
Not disclosed | Extra | $99 | $1167 | $112.01 to $113.47 estimated with tax |
Included (26 hours) |
Why the cheapest sticker is rarely the cheapest phone
Three things move the real number, and none of them show up in the big font on a provider’s home page.
The box. Every service here needs hardware. Some lend it to you (Vonage, Voiply, 1-VoIP, PhonePower and AXvoice send an adapter at no charge), others sell it, from $44.99 for magicJack to $129.99 for an Ooma Telo Air. Spread over a year, a $110 base adds about $9 a month. Over three years it barely registers.
Fees the provider adds itself. These aren’t taxes. PhonePower’s own price breakdown adds $8.18 a month in 911, regulatory and administrative fees to its $19.95 plan, which is a 41% jump before a cent of tax. Vonage adds $1.99 a month for 911 plus a 19.14% Federal Program Fee. AT&T adds $2.22. Voiply’s terms list a recovery fee of $8.95 per residential plan plus 2.5% of the plan cost; they don’t say how often it is charged, so ask before you sign up.
Taxes. Only US Mobile in this comparison says its price includes taxes and fees. Everyone else adds them, and on cheap lines a fixed 911 surcharge can be a big share of the bill. That is why the New York City column exists: not because you live there, but because it shows how fast a low price climbs.
Cellular or VoIP: decide this before you look at price
There are really two kinds of home phone you can order anywhere in the US today, and the difference matters more than a few dollars a month.
Cellular home phone uses a small base station with a SIM card inside. You plug it into the wall, plug your regular phone into the base, and calls go over a mobile network. No internet, no copper line. US Mobile, Straight Talk, Ooma Telo LTE, Community Phone and AT&T Phone Advanced all work this way. The catch: you need usable mobile signal where the base sits. A basement in a rural valley can be a problem; a kitchen counter near a window usually isn’t.
VoIP home phone plugs into your internet router instead. It is often cheaper, sometimes $0 a month, and the call quality is usually fine. But it is only as reliable as your internet and your power. When either goes out, so does the phone.
Both kinds let you keep the corded or cordless phone you already own in most cases, and both let you bring your old number with you. If you’re setting one up for an older parent, our guide to the best home phones for seniors covers big-button and amplified handsets that plug into any of these services.
Home phone services that don’t need internet
These five providers use mobile signal. They cost more than the cheapest VoIP plans, but they keep working when the internet doesn’t, and most of the bases carry a battery.
-
Cellular
US Mobile Home Phone
$12.99/mo
Month to month
- Equipment
- $110
- Taxes and fees
- Included
- Battery backup
- Included
-
Cellular
Straight Talk Wireless Home Phone
$15/30 days
Month to month
- Equipment
- $49.99
- Taxes and fees
- Not disclosed
- Battery backup
- Not disclosed
-
Cellular
Ooma Telo LTE
$19.99/mo
Month to month
- Equipment
- $99.99
- Taxes and fees
- Extra
- Battery backup
- Included
-
Cellular
AT&T Phone Advanced Domestic
$45/mo
Month to month
- Equipment
- $1
- Taxes and fees
- Extra
- Battery backup
- Included
-
Cellular
Community Phone Home
$45/mo
Month to month
- Equipment
- $99
- Taxes and fees
- Extra
- Battery backup
- Included
-
Cellular
AT&T Phone Advanced International
$50/mo
Month to month
- Equipment
- $1
- Taxes and fees
- Extra
- Battery backup
- Included
-
Cellular
Community Phone Premium
$59/mo
Month to month
- Equipment
- $99
- Taxes and fees
- Extra
- Battery backup
- Included
-
Cellular
Community Phone Loved Ones
$89/mo
Month to month
- Equipment
- $99
- Taxes and fees
- Extra
- Battery backup
- Included
Home phone over the internet (VoIP)
Cheaper on paper, and a few of these are genuinely good value if your internet is solid. Watch the fees column: this is where the gap between the advertised price and the bill is widest.
-
VoIP
Ooma Telo Basic
$0/mo
Service is free; you buy the device
- Equipment
- $79.99
- Taxes and fees
- Extra
- Battery backup
- Not applicable
-
VoIP
Ooma Telo Air Basic
$0/mo
Service is free; you buy the device
- Equipment
- $129.99
- Taxes and fees
- Extra
- Battery backup
- Not applicable
-
VoIP
magicJack magicJackHOME
$3.58/mo
Renewal rate, $43 a year
- Equipment
- $44.99
- Taxes and fees
- Extra
- Battery backup
- Not applicable
-
VoIP
Voiply Residential Home Phone Annual billing
$7.46/mo
Billed $89.50 a year
- Equipment
- Free
- Taxes and fees
- Extra
- Battery backup
- Not applicable
-
VoIP
Voiply Residential Home Phone Monthly billing
$8.95/mo
Month to month
- Equipment
- Free
- Taxes and fees
- Extra
- Battery backup
- Not applicable
-
VoIP
netTALK NexGen
$9/mo
Month to month
- Equipment
- Not disclosed
- Taxes and fees
- Not disclosed
- Battery backup
- Not applicable
-
VoIP
Ooma Premier
$9.99/mo
Month to month
- Equipment
- $79.99
- Taxes and fees
- Extra
- Battery backup
- Not applicable
-
VoIP
Vonage North America Plan
$9.99/mo
New-customer price
- Equipment
- Free
- Taxes and fees
- Extra
- Battery backup
- Not applicable
-
VoIP
AXvoice Residential VoIP
$14.99/mo
Month to month
- Equipment
- Free
- Taxes and fees
- Not disclosed
- Battery backup
- Not applicable
-
VoIP
Vonage World Prime Plan
$14.99/mo
New-customer price
- Equipment
- Free
- Taxes and fees
- Extra
- Battery backup
- Not applicable
-
VoIP
1-VoIP Residential VoIP
$17.97/mo
Month to month
- Equipment
- Free
- Taxes and fees
- Not disclosed
- Battery backup
- Not applicable
-
VoIP
Callcentric Residential SIP / VoIP
$19.95/mo
Month to month
- Equipment
- Bring your own
- Taxes and fees
- Extra
- Battery backup
- Not applicable
-
VoIP
PhonePower Residential VoIP
$19.95/mo
Month to month
- Equipment
- Free
- Taxes and fees
- Extra
- Battery backup
- Not applicable
Provider by provider
The full record for every plan in the table: what you get, what it really costs, what to check before you order, and a link to the provider’s own page so you can confirm it yourself.
US Mobile
Home Phone
$12.99/monthStandard rate
Or $9.99/month on the annual plan.
First month of service free when you buy the Home Phone Base.
First year: about $252.89 (11 paid months (first month free with the base) plus the $110 base. Taxes and fees included).
- Cellular
- Taxes included
- No internet needed
- Battery backup
- No contract
What you get
- Type
- Cellular home phone
- Unlimited US calling
- Yes
- International
- To 200+ destinations (see provider's country list)
- Uses your own home phone
- Yes
- Battery backup
- Included
- 911
- Not disclosed
- Features
- voicemail; caller ID; call forwarding; conference calling
What it costs and requires
- Monthly price
- $12.99/month
- Provider fees
- None; the price includes taxes and fees.
- Taxes
- Included in the price
- Equipment
- Wireless Home Phone Base $110. base + cordless phone bundle $179.99. free backup battery included. you need a corded/cordless phone with RJ11.
- Activation fee
- None
- Keep your number
- Not disclosed
- Contract
- No
Source: US Mobile home phone service · Checked
1-VoIP
Residential VoIP
$17.97/monthStandard rate
First year: about $215.64 (12 months, before taxes).
- VoIP
- Taxes not disclosed
- Needs home internet
- No contract
What you get
- Type
- VoIP home phone
- Unlimited US calling
- Yes
- International
- World Unlimited plan $23.97/mo adds unlimited calling to 30 countries
- Uses your own home phone
- Yes
- Battery backup
- Not applicable (runs off your router)
- 911
- Not disclosed
- Features
- unlimited incoming minutes; premium features included; Nomorobo robocall blocking; voicemail to email; virtual fax; whitelist and blacklist; mobile app
What it costs and requires
- Monthly price
- $17.97/month
- Provider fees
- Not disclosed
- Taxes
- Not disclosed
- Equipment
- Grandstream HT802 adapter free to use while a customer (shown with $99.00 struck through). must be returned when service ends. bring-your-own device option with no device charge.
- Activation fee
- Not disclosed
- Keep your number
- Free
- Contract
- No
Source: 1-VoIP residential plans · Checked
AT&T
Phone Advanced, Domestic
$45/monthStandard rate
First year: about $602.64 (12 months plus monthly fees plus equipment plus activation, before taxes).
- Cellular
- Taxes extra
- No internet needed
- Battery backup
What you get
- Type
- Cellular home phone
- Unlimited US calling
- Yes
- International
- Not disclosed
- Uses your own home phone
- Yes
- Battery backup
- Included
- 911
- Supported; register your home address
- Features
- keep your current home phone; local and long-distance voice calling; voicemail; call forwarding; caller ID; call waiting; 3-way calling; anonymous call blocking; Digital Phone Call Protect
What it costs and requires
- Monthly price
- $45/month
- Provider fees
- $2.22 a month: $0.99 administrative fee plus $1.23 regulatory cost recovery fee. Universal service and state charges vary.
- Taxes
- Added to the bill
- Equipment
- AT&T Phone – Advanced device, $1 with free shipping (page says a $188 value. $1 offer 'subject to change and may be discontinued at any time'. taxes extra). Self-install included. professional installation costs extra (fee schedule: up to $99).
- Activation fee
- Up to $35
- Keep your number
- Not disclosed
- Contract
- Not disclosed
Source: AT&T Phone Advanced · Checked
Phone Advanced, International
$50/monthStandard rate
First year: about $662.64 (12 months plus monthly fees plus equipment plus activation, before taxes).
- Cellular
- Taxes extra
- No internet needed
- Battery backup
What you get
- Type
- Cellular home phone
- Unlimited US calling
- Not disclosed
- International
- International calling plan included; destinations and any limits not listed on the plan page
- Uses your own home phone
- Yes
- Battery backup
- Included
- 911
- Supported; register your home address
- Features
- keep your current home phone; local and long-distance voice calling; voicemail; call forwarding; caller ID; call waiting; 3-way calling; anonymous call blocking; Digital Phone Call Protect
What it costs and requires
- Monthly price
- $50/month
- Provider fees
- $2.22 a month: $0.99 administrative fee plus $1.23 regulatory cost recovery fee. Universal service and state charges vary.
- Taxes
- Added to the bill
- Equipment
- AT&T Phone – Advanced device, $1 with free shipping (page says a $188 value. $1 offer 'subject to change and may be discontinued at any time'. taxes extra). Self-install included. professional installation costs extra (fee schedule: up to $99).
- Activation fee
- Up to $35
- Keep your number
- Not disclosed
- Contract
- Not disclosed
Source: AT&T Phone Advanced · Checked
AXvoice
Residential VoIP
$14.99/monthStandard rate
Or $99 a year, which works out to $8.25/month.
First year: about $179.88 (12 months, before taxes).
- VoIP
- Taxes not disclosed
- Needs home internet
What you get
- Type
- VoIP home phone
- Unlimited US calling
- Yes
- International
- Not disclosed
- Uses your own home phone
- Yes
- Battery backup
- Not applicable (runs off your router)
- 911
- Supported; register your home address
- Features
- caller ID with name; enhanced voicemail; call forwarding; simultaneous ring; failover; do not disturb; online account management
What it costs and requires
- Monthly price
- $14.99/month
- Provider fees
- A $1.50 911 fee and $19.99 shipping and provisioning (if applicable) are listed with the plan.
- Taxes
- Not disclosed
- Equipment
- Free AXvoice phone adapter. shipping and provisioning $19.99 (if applicable).
- Activation fee
- None
- Keep your number
- Not disclosed
- Contract
- Not disclosed
Source: AXvoice residential plans · Checked
Callcentric
Residential SIP / VoIP
$19.95/monthStandard rate
First year: about $252.90 (12 months plus activation; cheapest $1 a month number, before taxes).
- VoIP
- Taxes extra
- Needs home internet
- No contract
What you get
- Type
- VoIP home phone
- Unlimited US calling
- Yes
- International
- Per-minute rates; free to other Callcentric members
- Uses your own home phone
- Yes
- Battery backup
- Not applicable (runs off your router)
- 911
- Supported; register your home address
- Features
- E911 included; voicemail ($0); free calls to Callcentric members
What it costs and requires
- Monthly price
- $19.95/month
- Provider fees
- Not disclosed
- Taxes
- Added to the bill
- Equipment
- Bring your own SIP phone or analog adapter (ATA). Callcentric's homepage recommends an Obihai OBi202 and its supported-devices list includes ATAs and cordless SIP phones. no Callcentric-sold device or device price found on the pages checked.
- Activation fee
- $1.50
- Keep your number
- Free
- Contract
- No
Source: Callcentric residential plan · Checked
Community Phone
Home
$45/monthStandard rate
First year: about $639 (12 months plus equipment, before taxes).
- Cellular
- Taxes extra
- No internet needed
- Battery backup
- No contract
What you get
- Type
- Cellular home phone
- Unlimited US calling
- Yes
- International
- Not disclosed
- Uses your own home phone
- Yes
- Battery backup
- Included (26 hours)
- 911
- Not disclosed
- Features
- unlimited nationwide calling; 1 number (keep yours or new); spam call blocking
What it costs and requires
- Monthly price
- $45/month
- Provider fees
- Not disclosed
- Taxes
- Added to the bill
- Equipment
- Community Phone Base $99 one-time plus tax. dual RJ11 ports, Nano SIM, dual antennas. no internet needed.
- Activation fee
- Not disclosed
- Keep your number
- Not disclosed
- Contract
- No
Source: Community Phone plans · Checked
Premium
$59/monthStandard rate
First year: about $807 (12 months plus equipment, before taxes).
- Cellular
- Taxes extra
- No internet needed
- Battery backup
- No contract
What you get
- Type
- Cellular home phone
- Unlimited US calling
- Yes
- International
- Not disclosed
- Uses your own home phone
- Yes
- Battery backup
- Included (26 hours)
- 911
- Not disclosed
- Features
- everything in Home; call forwarding; block unwanted numbers; advanced call activity with history and trends; voicemail in app or as text; saved contacts
What it costs and requires
- Monthly price
- $59/month
- Provider fees
- Not disclosed
- Taxes
- Added to the bill
- Equipment
- Community Phone Base $99 one-time plus tax. dual RJ11 ports, Nano SIM, dual antennas. no internet needed.
- Activation fee
- Not disclosed
- Keep your number
- Not disclosed
- Contract
- No
Source: Community Phone plans · Checked
Loved Ones
$89/monthStandard rate
First year: about $1167 (12 months plus equipment, before taxes).
- Cellular
- Taxes extra
- No internet needed
- Battery backup
- No contract
What you get
- Type
- Cellular home phone
- Unlimited US calling
- Yes
- International
- Not disclosed
- Uses your own home phone
- Yes
- Battery backup
- Included (26 hours)
- 911
- Not disclosed
- Features
- everything in Home; call history and voicemail; call monitoring including emergency calls; voicemail transcription; fraud protection; allowlist of trusted numbers
What it costs and requires
- Monthly price
- $89/month
- Provider fees
- Not disclosed
- Taxes
- Added to the bill
- Equipment
- Community Phone Base $99 one-time plus tax. dual RJ11 ports, Nano SIM, dual antennas. no internet needed.
- Activation fee
- Not disclosed
- Keep your number
- Not disclosed
- Contract
- No
Source: Community Phone plans · Checked
magicJack
magicJackHOME
$3.58/monthAnnual billing, shown per month
First year: about $44.99 (device with 12 months of service included, before the 9% administrative fee, shipping and taxes).
- VoIP
- Taxes extra
- Needs home internet
- No contract
What you get
- Type
- VoIP home phone
- Unlimited US calling
- Yes
- International
- Free magicJack-to-magicJack worldwide; other international via prepaid credits
- Uses your own home phone
- Not disclosed
- Battery backup
- Not applicable (runs off your router)
- 911
- Supported; register your home address
- Features
- Caller ID; voicemail; call forwarding; call waiting; conference calling; call blocking; magicApp (phone rings on mobile)
What it costs and requires
- Monthly price
- $3.58/month
- Provider fees
- A 9% administrative fee on every purchase.
- Taxes
- Added to the bill
- Equipment
- magicJack device $44.99 limited-time (regularly $59.99). includes 12 months of service (15 months for one-way magicIN or magicOUT). shipping and handling extra.
- Activation fee
- None
- Keep your number
- $19.95 one-time
- Contract
- No
Source: magicJack plans · Checked
netTALK
NexGen
$9/monthStandard rate
First year: about $108 (12 months, before taxes).
- VoIP
- Taxes not disclosed
- Needs home internet
- No contract
What you get
- Type
- VoIP home phone
- Unlimited US calling
- Not disclosed
- International
- Not disclosed
- Uses your own home phone
- Not disclosed
- Battery backup
- Not applicable (runs off your router)
- 911
- Not disclosed
- Features
- visual voicemail; call forwarding; basic spam call filter; 3-way calling; speed dial; block 1 caller
What it costs and requires
- Monthly price
- $9/month
- Provider fees
- Not disclosed
- Taxes
- Not disclosed
- Equipment
- Not disclosed
- Activation fee
- Not disclosed
- Keep your number
- Paid; fee not disclosed
- Contract
- No
Source: netTALK NT Connect plans · Checked
Ooma
Telo Basic
$0/monthFree service, device required
First year: about $79.99 (12 months plus equipment, before taxes).
- VoIP
- Taxes extra
- Needs home internet
- No contract
What you get
- Type
- VoIP home phone
- Unlimited US calling
- Yes
- International
- Per-minute; add-on plans from $5.99/mo (200 min) up to $17.99/mo (unlimited 60 countries)
- Uses your own home phone
- Yes
- Battery backup
- Not applicable (runs off your router)
- 911
- Supported; register your home address
- Features
- Free U.S. calling; caller ID; voicemail; call waiting; call hold; call logs; call return (*69); mobile app; address-based 911; free Ooma-to-Ooma calling
What it costs and requires
- Monthly price
- $0/month
- Provider fees
- Not disclosed
- Taxes
- Added to the bill
- Equipment
- Ooma Telo base: $79.99 on sale, list $99.99. Telo + HD3 cordless handset bundle $139.98. free shipping. 30-day return.
- Activation fee
- Not disclosed
- Keep your number
- $39.99 one-time
- Contract
- No
Source: Ooma home phone plans · Checked
Telo Air Basic
$0/monthFree service, device required
First year: about $129.99 (12 months plus equipment, before taxes).
- VoIP
- Taxes extra
- Needs home internet
- No contract
What you get
- Type
- VoIP home phone
- Unlimited US calling
- Yes
- International
- Per-minute; add-on plans from $5.99/mo (200 min) up to $17.99/mo (unlimited 60 countries)
- Uses your own home phone
- Yes
- Battery backup
- Not applicable (runs off your router)
- 911
- Supported; register your home address
- Features
- Free U.S. calling; Wi-Fi connection to router; caller ID; voicemail; call waiting; mobile app; address-based 911
What it costs and requires
- Monthly price
- $0/month
- Provider fees
- Not disclosed
- Taxes
- Added to the bill
- Equipment
- Ooma Telo Air (connects over home Wi-Fi): $129.99. free shipping. 30-day return.
- Activation fee
- Not disclosed
- Keep your number
- $39.99 one-time
- Contract
- No
Source: Ooma home phone plans · Checked
Premier
$9.99/monthStandard rate
First year: about $179.89 (10 paid months after the 60-day trial plus a Telo, before taxes and fees).
- VoIP
- Taxes extra
- Needs home internet
What you get
- Type
- VoIP home phone
- Unlimited US calling
- Yes
- International
- Free calling to Canada and Mexico; other countries per-minute or add-on plans
- Uses your own home phone
- Yes
- Battery backup
- Not applicable (runs off your router)
- 911
- Supported; register your home address
- Features
- Unlimited calling in U.S., Canada and Mexico; advanced call blocking; instant second line; call forwarding; backup number; advanced voicemail
What it costs and requires
- Monthly price
- $9.99/month
- Provider fees
- Not disclosed
- Taxes
- Added to the bill
- Equipment
- Needs an Ooma Telo ($79.99 on sale, $99.99 list). purchase includes a 60-day free trial of Premier.
- Activation fee
- Not disclosed
- Keep your number
- $39.99 one-time
- Contract
- Not disclosed
Source: Ooma home phone plans · Checked
Telo LTE
$19.99/monthStandard rate
First year: about $339.87 (12 months plus equipment, before taxes).
- Cellular
- Taxes extra
- No internet needed
- Battery backup
What you get
- Type
- Cellular home phone
- Unlimited US calling
- Yes
- International
- Per-minute; add-on plans from $5.99/mo (200 min) up to $17.99/mo (unlimited 60 countries)
- Uses your own home phone
- Not disclosed
- Battery backup
- Included
- 911
- Supported; register your home address
- Features
- LTE connection (no home internet needed); battery backup; caller ID; voicemail; mobile app; address-based 911
What it costs and requires
- Monthly price
- $19.99/month
- Provider fees
- Not disclosed
- Taxes
- Added to the bill
- Equipment
- Ooma Telo LTE (LTE adapter plus battery backup): $99.99 on sale, list $129.99. free shipping. 30-day return.
- Activation fee
- Not disclosed
- Keep your number
- $39.99 one-time
- Contract
- Not disclosed
Source: Ooma home phone plans · Checked
PhonePower
Residential VoIP
$19.95/monthStandard rate
Or $99.95 a year, which works out to $8.33/month.
First year: about $352.51 (12 months plus monthly fees; $14.95 first-month shipping, before taxes).
- VoIP
- Taxes extra
- Needs home internet
- No contract
What you get
- Type
- VoIP home phone
- Unlimited US calling
- Yes
- International
- 60 minutes a month free to listed countries
- Uses your own home phone
- Not disclosed
- Battery backup
- Not applicable (runs off your router)
- 911
- Supported; register your home address
- Features
- free cloned second line; mobile phone app; send fax; 30-day money-back guarantee; enhanced 911
What it costs and requires
- Monthly price
- $19.95/month
- Provider fees
- $8.18 a month: $2.49 911 cost recovery, $4.19 regulatory recovery, $1.50 administrative fee.
- Taxes
- Added to the bill
- Equipment
- PhonePower home adapter included free (free lease). $14.95 shipping/handling in the first month. bring-your-own-device supported.
- Activation fee
- None
- Keep your number
- Free
- Contract
- No
Source: PhonePower calling plans · Checked
Straight Talk
Wireless Home Phone
$15/30 daysStandard rate
First year: about $232.49 (about 12 refills of 30 days plus the $49.99 base, before taxes).
- Cellular
- Taxes not disclosed
- No internet needed
- No contract
What you get
- Type
- Cellular home phone
- Unlimited US calling
- Yes
- International
- Not disclosed
- Uses your own home phone
- Not disclosed
- Battery backup
- Not disclosed
- 911
- Not disclosed
- Features
- voicemail; caller ID; 3-way calling; call waiting; call forwarding; 411
What it costs and requires
- Monthly price
- $15/30 days
- Provider fees
- Not disclosed
- Taxes
- Not disclosed
- Equipment
- Moxee Wireless Home Phone Base Station $49.99 (out of stock online on 2026-10-19). plan page does not say the base is required.
- Activation fee
- Not disclosed
- Keep your number
- Not disclosed
- Contract
- No
Source: Straight Talk home phone plan · Checked
Voiply
Residential Home Phone, Annual billing
$7.46/monthAnnual billing, shown per month
First year: about $89.50 (prepaid year, before fees and taxes).
- VoIP
- Taxes extra
- Needs home internet
- No contract
What you get
- Type
- VoIP home phone
- Unlimited US calling
- Yes
- International
- Not disclosed
- Uses your own home phone
- Yes
- Battery backup
- Not applicable (runs off your router)
- 911
- Supported; register your home address
- Features
- spam call blocking; voicemail to email; HD voice; mobile app; enhanced E911; 30-day money-back guarantee
What it costs and requires
- Monthly price
- $7.46/month
- Provider fees
- Voiply's terms list a recovery fee of $8.95 per residential plan plus 2.5% of the plan cost.
- Taxes
- Added to the bill
- Equipment
- Voiply adapter free with the plan (Grandstream HT801 per help center FAQ). optional phone sets $104.95 (Vtech), $134.95 (AT&T), $144.95 (Panasonic).
- Activation fee
- Not disclosed
- Keep your number
- Free
- Contract
- No
Source: Voiply home phone · Checked
Residential Home Phone, Monthly billing
$8.95/monthStandard rate
First year: about $107.40 (12 months, before taxes).
- VoIP
- Taxes extra
- Needs home internet
- No contract
What you get
- Type
- VoIP home phone
- Unlimited US calling
- Yes
- International
- Not disclosed
- Uses your own home phone
- Yes
- Battery backup
- Not applicable (runs off your router)
- 911
- Supported; register your home address
- Features
- spam call blocking; voicemail to email; HD voice; mobile app; enhanced E911; 30-day money-back guarantee
What it costs and requires
- Monthly price
- $8.95/month
- Provider fees
- Voiply's terms list a recovery fee of $8.95 per residential plan plus 2.5% of the plan cost.
- Taxes
- Added to the bill
- Equipment
- Voiply adapter free with the plan (Grandstream HT801 per help center FAQ). optional phone sets $104.95 (Vtech), $134.95 (AT&T), $144.95 (Panasonic).
- Activation fee
- Not disclosed
- Keep your number
- Free
- Contract
- No
Source: Voiply home phone · Checked
Vonage
North America Plan
$9.99/monthNew-customer price
New customers only; Vonage does not print how long this price lasts or the regular rate.
First year: about $143.76 (12 months plus monthly fees, before taxes).
- VoIP
- Taxes extra
- Needs home internet
- No contract
What you get
- Type
- VoIP home phone
- Unlimited US calling
- Yes
- International
- Per-minute (best per-minute rates outside US, Canada, Puerto Rico, Mexico)
- Uses your own home phone
- Not disclosed
- Battery backup
- Not applicable (runs off your router)
- 911
- Supported; register your home address
- Features
- Unlimited calling to U.S., Canada, Puerto Rico and Mexico; Vonage Extensions app on up to 3 smartphones; boomerang; Call Filter; SimulRing; enhanced call forwarding; voicemail plus; 20+ features
What it costs and requires
- Monthly price
- $9.99/month
- Provider fees
- $1.99 a month 911 and information services fee per line, plus a 19.14% Federal Program Fee.
- Taxes
- Added to the bill
- Equipment
- Vonage Box included with all plans. shipping included.
- Activation fee
- None
- Keep your number
- Free
- Contract
- No
Source: Vonage home phone plans · Checked
World Prime Plan
$14.99/monthNew-customer price
New customers only; Vonage does not print how long this price lasts or the regular rate.
First year: about $203.76 (12 months plus monthly fees, before taxes).
- VoIP
- Taxes extra
- Needs home internet
- No contract
What you get
- Type
- VoIP home phone
- Unlimited US calling
- Yes
- International
- Unlimited calling to 60+ countries (landlines, mobile for 20+); per-minute elsewhere
- Uses your own home phone
- Not disclosed
- Battery backup
- Not applicable (runs off your router)
- 911
- Supported; register your home address
- Features
- Unlimited calling to U.S., Canada, Puerto Rico, Mexico and 60+ countries; Vonage Extensions app on up to 3 smartphones; 20+ features incl. Selective Call Block and voicemail transcription
What it costs and requires
- Monthly price
- $14.99/month
- Provider fees
- $1.99 a month 911 and information services fee per line, plus a 19.14% Federal Program Fee.
- Taxes
- Added to the bill
- Equipment
- Vonage Box included with all plans. shipping included.
- Activation fee
- None
- Keep your number
- Free
- Contract
- No
Source: Vonage home phone plans · Checked
Phone companies that price by address
Cable, fiber and traditional phone companies still sell home phone service, but they quote by address, often bundled with internet or TV. There is no single price to compare, so they aren’t in the table. If one of them serves your street, get a quote and compare it against the nationwide options above.
- Cable and fiber phone service: Astound Broadband, Breezeline, Cox, Fidium, Mediacom, Optimum, Sparklight, Spectrum, WOW!, Xfinity, Ziply Fiber, Verizon Fios Digital Voice, Frontier Digital Voice.
- Traditional landline companies: AT&T, Brightspeed, CenturyLink, Consolidated Communications, Frontier, Kinetic by Windstream, TDS Telecom, altafiber, Verizon.
- Regional providers: ALLO Fiber, Armstrong, Bluepeak, Buckeye Broadband, EPB, GCI, Hawaiian Telcom, Midco, Service Electric, Shentel, Sonic, Vyve Broadband.
- Rural telephone companies and co-ops: BEK Communications Cooperative, GVTC Communications, Golden West Telecommunications, Hiawatha Broadband Communications, Northeast Nebraska Telephone Company, Paul Bunyan Communications, Pine Belt Communications, Pioneer Telephone Cooperative, Smithville Communications, Totelcom Communications, Vermont Telephone (VTel), West River Cooperative Telephone Company.
Traditional copper landlines in particular are shrinking. Several phone companies have stopped selling new copper lines in parts of their territory, so availability can come down to your exact address.
Providers we couldn’t price
Three more providers sell home phone service nationwide, but we couldn’t confirm a monthly price on their own pages on :
- Consumer Cellular sells the IRIS Home Phone Base for $99.99 and requires one of its plans, but we couldn’t confirm the monthly rate for home phone service on its product page. The base was also out of stock online, and ordering means calling.
- Verizon sells a Voice Gateway home phone device to new customers, but shows the monthly plan price only in the cart. Its older Voice Connect service has support pages and no public price.
- VoIP.ms is a pay-as-you-go service for people who bring their own phone adapter. We couldn’t verify its pricing page on the day we checked.
T-Mobile’s Home Phone LineLink isn’t in this comparison either; our T-Mobile LineLink guide explains how it works.
Keeping your number, and setting up 911
You don’t have to give up a number you’ve had for thirty years. Moving it to a new provider is called porting. Vonage, Voiply, 1-VoIP, PhonePower and Callcentric port for free; magicJack charges $19.95 and Ooma $39.99. Community Phone also lets you bring your number. The rest don’t publish a porting fee, so ask before you order.
Two pieces of advice that save a lot of grief. Don’t cancel your old service until the new provider confirms the number has moved, because a cancelled number can’t be ported. And have your old account number and PIN handy, since the new provider will ask for them.
Then, on day one, register your home address for 911 with the new provider. Calls from a cellular base or a VoIP adapter don’t carry a fixed street address the way a copper line did, so the registered address is what emergency services see. If you move house, update it.
Spam calls follow your number wherever it goes. If that’s part of why you’re switching, our tips on how to stop spam calls on your landline work with any of these services, and still wondering whether a home phone is worth having at all? Here are five reasons people still keep one.
Methodology and sources
Every price on this page came from the provider’s own website on : its plan, pricing, help or terms pages. No review sites, no comparison sites, no forum threads. We saved a screenshot of each price page so we can show where a number came from if anyone asks.
We include nationwide residential services that anyone can order online or by phone at a fixed price. Phone companies that quote by address are listed separately, and business phone systems, cell phone plans and phone apps are left out. When a provider shows both a monthly and an annual price, the table uses the month-to-month rate and the annual one appears in the plan record. Promotional prices are labelled, and where a provider doesn’t say what the price becomes later, we say so.
Where a provider won’t commit to something, such as its tax treatment, a fee amount or whether a base has a battery, you’ll see “Not disclosed” rather than a guess. The New York City column is our own estimate built from published state, city and federal rates, and it is never used to rank anything.
US Mobile publishes this page and sells one of the services on it. Competitors are shown with the same fields and the same rules as our own plan, and none is left out for being cheaper on any measure. Prices change without warning; we re-check at least every 30 days, but confirm on the provider’s site before you order. If you spot something out of date, tell us and we’ll re-check it.
Frequently Asked Questions
How much does a landline cost per month?
Between $0 and $89 a month for the nationwide home phone services we priced on 19 October 2026, before taxes. Cellular home phone, which needs no internet, runs from $12.99 at US Mobile (taxes included) to $89 for Community Phone Loved Ones. Internet-based VoIP starts at $0 with Ooma Basic, but you buy the device and pay monthly taxes and fees.
What is the cheapest landline phone service?
It depends on whether you have home internet. Without internet, the lowest monthly price we found is US Mobile home phone service at $12.99 a month with taxes and fees included, or $9.99 on the annual plan. With internet, Ooma Basic charges $0 for service, though the Telo device costs $79.99 and monthly taxes and fees still apply.
Can you still get a landline phone without internet?
Yes. Cellular home phone services connect a base station to a mobile network instead of a copper line or your router, so no internet is needed. US Mobile, Straight Talk, Ooma Telo LTE, Community Phone and AT&T Phone Advanced all work this way. You still need decent mobile signal where the base sits.
Is there free landline phone service?
Not truly free. Ooma Basic and Ooma Telo Air Basic charge $0 a month for US calling, but you must buy the Telo device ($79.99 or $129.99) and Ooma still bills monthly taxes and regulatory fees that vary by location. You also need home internet, so the service stops if your internet or power goes out.
How do I get a landline phone?
Pick a service type, buy or receive the equipment, then activate and register your address for 911. Cellular home phone plugs into power and uses mobile signal; VoIP plugs into your router. Most services let you plug in the corded or cordless phone you already own and move your existing number over.
Does AT&T still have landline phone service?
Yes, in two forms. AT&T Phone Advanced is a wireless home phone at $45 a month for US calling or $50 with international calling, plus $2.22 in monthly AT&T fees and taxes, ordered by phone. AT&T’s traditional copper landline is now limited and priced by address, so check availability for your home.
Does Verizon offer landline service?
Verizon’s Fios Digital Voice and traditional landline service are sold by address, so the price depends on where you live. For homes without Fios, Verizon sells a Voice Gateway home phone device to new customers, but it does not show the monthly plan price before checkout, so we could not include it in our price comparison.
Can I keep my landline number if I switch?
Usually, yes. Moving your number is called porting. Vonage, Voiply, 1-VoIP, PhonePower and Callcentric port for free, magicJack charges $19.95 and Ooma charges $39.99, and Community Phone also lets you keep yours. Keep your old service active until the new one confirms the number has moved, or the port can fail.
Does a home phone work when the power goes out?
Only if it has backup power. VoIP depends on your router and modem, so it stops when the power or internet goes out unless they are on a battery. Many cellular home phone bases include a backup battery: US Mobile, Community Phone, Ooma Telo LTE and AT&T Phone Advanced all list one.

Leave a Comment